

Stephen House 32 Thesiger Court Deakin, ACT 2600 t+61 (02) 6232 4978

internationalaffairs.org.au/australian-capital-territory

Australian Institute of International Affairs (ACT Branch)

Minutes of the Annual General Meeting Held at Stephen House – 19 November 2020

Attendance

Sacha Blumen
Diana Cooper
James Cotton
Philip Eliason
Brian Ely
Peter Hamburger
Philip Huntley
Bradley Innes

Elmo Jacob Amanda Lynch Malcolm MacKerras Mitchell McIntosh Heath McMichael Natalie Mobini Stephen Monage Alex Olah John Oliver Elizabeth Oliver Jenny Osborne Patrick Regan Margaret Sainsbury Marco Salvio

Keith Sayers JamesWise

Apologies and Proxies

Ingrid Moses John Moses Phil Diak Joanne Frederiksen Paul Lindwall

There being a quorum, the President opened the meeting at 6:00pm

Endorsement of the Minutes of the Previous Meeting

That the Minutes of the Annual General Meeting held on 11 September 2019 be accepted as a true and accurate record.

Moved: Elmo Jacob Seconded: Brian Ely

CARRIED

Matters Arising

There were no matters arising from the Minutes

Correspondence

No outstanding correspondence was reported

President's Report

Branch President, Heath McMichael,

remarked that the Branch had displayed considerable agility in responding to the restrictions imposed by COVID-19. Amongst the measures implemented by the Branch in response to the pandemic was establishment of a virtual platform for events. Heath thanked Branch members who, following cancellation of the Branch Annual Dinner in March because of physical distancing restrictions, generously chose to donate their annual dinner ticket or credit the ticket towards another year's membership.



Heath expressed hope that the current relaxation of restrictions would see a gradual return to in-person events at the ACT Branch. He outlined the success of a hybrid-event program, with in-house presentations by speakers being broadcast online. Heath called on members to indicate their interest in being invited to attend hybrid events at Stephen House.

Heath explained slight changes had been made to the Branch Constitution to update its provisions and ensure compliance with current laws and the constitutions of AIIA Branches in other jurisdictions. He brought forward a resolution to pass the proposed constitutional amendments.

That a resolution to adopt amendments to the Branch Constitution be accepted.

Moved: Peter Hamburger Approved by acclamation

Finally, Heath expressed his sincere thanks to the out-going Council for their support through the year in delivering a successful program of events, particularly in light of COVID-19. He specifically thanked Natalie Mobini for coordinating events, Brian Ely for organising hospitality at events and Phil Huntley for managing the Branch's finances. He also thanked Branch Administrative assistant, Caitlin Plesek for handling the many 'front of house' queries from members.

Seconded: Natalie Mobini

CARRIED

That the President's report be accepted.

Moved: Phil Huntley Seconded: Sasha Blumen

CARRIED

Treasurer's Report

Branch Treasurer, Phil Huntley, noted the sound financial position of the Branch at the end of FY2019-20. He noted the difficult financial position facing the Branch following cancellation of the Branch Annual Dinner earlier in the year. However the generous action of Branch members who had donated the cost of their tickets and timely government COVID-19 financial support had secured the Branch's financial position.

The Treasurer explained that the next financial year was looking positive for the ACT Branch. However, he noted declining membership was a continuing concern because of its negative impact on Branch revenue.

Moved: James Wise Seconded: Elmo Jacob

CARRIED

Appointment of the Returning Officer

The President nominated Peter Hamburger to act as Returning Officer for the election of the ACT Branch Council for the 2020-2021 period.



Election of the 2020-2021 Council

The Returning Officer announced the names of financial members who had been nominated and seconded by financial members of the ACT Branch for positions on Council. The Returning Officer called for any nominations from the floor or for members to approach the Branch President or Council Members after the AGM to suggest nominees for Council. After determining there were no nominees from the floor, the Returning Officer declared the following persons elected to the vacant positions:

Heath McMichael President Natalie Mobini Vice President Treasurer Philip Huntley Phil Diak Councillor Brian Ely Councillor Bradley Innes Councillor Elmo Jacob Councillor Amanda Lynch Councillor Desmond Woods Councillor

Appointment of Auditor

Mr John Beard was re-appointed ACT Branch Auditor for the 2020-2021 financial year.

Moved: Amanda Lynch Seconded: Elmo Jacob

CARRIED

Appointment of Public Officer

Heath McMichael indicated his willingness to continue in the position of Public Officer for the 2020-2021 financial year.

Lodgement of the Annual Return

The President advised the Branch would lodge an Annual Return following the AGM

General Business

No matters arising.

The President declared the meeting closed at 6:13 pm