

# Foreign Policy in an Uncertain World

Monday 16 October 2017 Hotel Realm Canberra, 18 National Circuit, Barton

## Program

Arrival

## **Australian Foreign Policy**

- The Hon Julie Bishop MP, Minister for Foreign Affairs
- Senator the Hon Penny Wong, Shadow Minister for Foreign Affairs
- The Hon Kim Beazley AC FAIIA, National President, Australian Institute of International Affairs

<u>Chair</u>: **Zara Kimpton OAM**, National Vice-President, Australian Institute of International Affairs

Announcement of recipients of the Euan Crone Asian Awareness Scholarship

# Morning Tea

## **Enhancing Australia's Prosperity**

- Dr Stephanie Fahey, Chief Executive Officer, Austrade
- **Professor Michael Wesley**, Dean of the College of Asia and the Pacific, Australian National University
- Mukund Narayanamurti, Chief Executive Officer, Asialink Business
- **Professor Andrew Walter**, Interim Director of Melbourne School of Government and Professor of International Relations, University of Melbourne

Chair: Dr Sue Boyd FAIIA, former ambassador and Immediate Past President, AIIA for WA

# Lunch

# Strengthening Australia's Security

- **Tom Switzer**, ABC Radio National presenter and Senior Fellow at The Centre for Independent Studies
- Linda Jakobson, Chief Executive Officer and Founding Director, China Matters
- Gordon Flake, Chief Executive Officer, Perth USAsia Centre
- **Dr Joanne Wallis**, Strategic and Defence Studies Centre, Australian National University

<u>Chair</u>: **Professor Nick Bisley**, Editor-in-chief, *Australian Journal of International Affairs* and Executive Director, La Trobe Asia

Launch of winner of the AIIA Publication Support Grant

# 08.30-09.00

### 09.00-10.30

# 11.00-12:30

#### \_\_\_\_\_

# 1.30-3.00

12.30-1.30

10.30-11.00

Afternoon Tea	
Australia's Contribution to Global Issues	

- Senator the Hon Lisa Singh, Senator for Tasmania
- **Professor Ramesh Thakur**, Director, Centre for Nuclear Non-Proliferation and Disarmament, Crawford School, Australian National University
- Johanna Weaver, Acting Director, Cyber Policy Section, Department of Foreign Affairs and Trade

<u>Chair</u>: Associate Professor Maria Rost Rublee, Department of Politics and International Relations, Monash University

Announcement of Young Diplomats Program Winners

# **Concluding Remarks**

• Melissa Conley Tyler, National Executive Director, Australian Institute of International Affairs

# Partners

The AIIA's National Conference and Masterclasses are proudly presented with the support of:



3.00-3.30

3.30-4.45

4.45-5.00