

Australian Institute of International Affairs National President's Forum

Australia and the Chinese Century?

Premier's Hall, Parliament House, Brisbane Tuesday 19th October 2010

Program

Arrival	8.45-9.00
Welcome to Participants	9.00-9.15

Chair:

Mr Clive Hildebrand, Immediate Past National President, Australian Institute of International Affairs

Welcome:

Mr John McCarthy AO, National President, Australian Institute of International Affairs

Opening Comments:

Professor Leong Liew, Head of Department, Griffith Business School, Griffith University

Session 1: China Now	
China's Current Challenges and Opportunities	9.15-10.45

Chair:

Mr Geoffrey Ewing, President, Queensland Branch, Australian Institute of International Affairs

Opening Comments:

Ms Colleen Ryan, China Correspondent, Australian Financial Review

Response:

Professor You Ji, School of Social Sciences and International Studies, University of New South Wales

Moderator:

Mr Colin Chapman, President, AIIA NSW Branch and Vice President, Asia Pacific, STRATFOR

Session 2: China Rising China's Long-term Policy and Strategic Interests	
	11.15-12.45
Chair:	
Mr Barry White, Australia China Business Council and Director, Proex De	evelopments Pty Ltd
Opening Comments:	
Dr Rong Ying, Vice President, China Institute of International Studies	
Response:	
Dr Richard Rigby, Executive Director, ANU China Institute, Australian Na	ational University
Moderator:	
Dr Rosita Dellios, Coordinator, International Relations Program, Bond Uni	iversity
Lunch	12.45-1.30
Session 3: The China Effect Australia's Current China Policy	1.30-3.00
Chair:	
Mr John Michell, State Director Queensland, Department of Foreign Affair	s and Trade
Opening Comments:	
Dr Jian Zhang, School of Humanities and Social Sciences, Australian Defen	nce Force Academy

Response:

Ms Margaret Jack, former Executive Director, Shell China & Hong Kong and current advisor to a number of companies in the energy sector

Moderator:

Dr Malcolm Cook, Program Director East Asia, Lowy Institute for International Policy

Afternoon Tea	3.00-3.30
Session 4: Australia's Response	
Australia's Future Policy Options on China	3.30-4.45

Chair:

Mr David Costello, Foreign Editor, The Courier-Mail

Opening Comments:

Emeritus Professor Peter Drysdale AM, Crawford School of Economics and Government, Australian National University

Response:

Mr Doug Ritchie, Chief Executive Energy, Rio Tinto

Moderator:

Professor Jocelyn Chey AM, School of Languages and Cultures, University of Sydney

Concluding Remarks	4.45-5.00
--------------------	-----------

Rapporteur's Report:

Mr Geoffrey Miller AO, Immediate Past National Vice-President, Australian Institute of International Affairs

Closing Remarks:

Ms Melissa Conley Tyler, National Executive Director, Australian Institute of International Affairs

Departure for Government House	5.15
Fernberg Lecture and Reception Hosted by The Governor, Her Excellency Ms Penelope Wensley AO	6.00-8.00

Presentation by the Hon Stephen Robertson MP Minister for Trade and Minister for Natural Resources, Mines and Energy

The Australian Institute of International Affairs gratefully acknowledges the support of:

China Institute of International Studies Department of Foreign Affairs and Trade Global Studies Institute Hong Kong Rio Tinto Trade Queensland

Confirmed Participants

Mr Bill Brummitt, General Manager, Macroeconomic Group, International and G-20 Division, Treasury

Mr Graham Fletcher, First Assistant Secretary, North Asia Division, Department of Foreign Affairs and Trade

Mr Harry Genn, Assistant Director-General, North Asia Branch, Office of National Assessments Dr Sun-Hee Lee, Acting Assistant Director General, Asia Regional Branch, Australian Agency for International Development

Ms Cheryl Stanilewicz, State Manager Queensland, Austrade

Mr Tim Lane, Chief Adviser, Australia/China Relationships, Rio Tinto Mr Robert Pritchard, Managing Director, ResourcesLaw International

Professor Bob Elliott, Director, Confucius Institute, Queensland University of Technology Mr Richard Leaver, Reader in Politics, School of Political and International Studies, Flinders University Scott Sheppard, Deputy Vice-Chancellor International and Development, Queensland University of Technology Associate Professor Ligang Song, Director China Economy Program, Crawford School of Economics and Government, Australian National University Professor Yi-Chong Xu, Centre for Governance and Public Policy, Griffith University

AIIA Participants

Dr Sue Boyd, President, WA Branch Mr Ian Dudgeon RFD, President, ACT Branch The Hon Michael MacKellar, President, AIIA VIC Mr Dayle Redden, Honorary National Treasurer Dr Matthew Sussex, President, TAS Branch Mr Colin Kennard, QLD Branch Mr Paul Ransom, QLD Branch Mr Jeremy Webb, QLD Branch

Organising Team

Mr John Robbins CSC, National Deputy Director, AIIA National Office Mr Sam Crocker, Intern, AIIA National Office Mr Romain Le Floc'h, Intern, AIIA National Office Mr Luke Nasir, Intern, AIIA National Office