

# Australian Institute of International Affairs National President's Forum and Governor's Reception

## Great Expectations: Obama's Foreign Policy

Balcony Room, Parliament House, North Terrace, Adelaide Tuesday 5 May 2009

**Arrival** 8.45-9.00

#### **Welcome to Participants**

9.00-9.15

**Opening Comments:** 

Mr Clive Hildebrand, National President, Australian Institute of International Affairs

Welcome:

Ms Gay Thompson, Deputy Speaker of the House of Assembly and Chairman of Committees

#### **Session 1: The New Administration**

9.15-10.45

Chair:

Mrs Dana Stoba, President, SA Division, Australian American Association

**Opening Comments:** 

Dr Michael Fullilove, Director of the Global Issues Program, Lowy Institute for International Policy

Moderator:

Dr John Hart, Reader in Political Science and International Relations, ANU

Morning Tea 10.45-11.15

### Session 2: Global and Regional Challenges

11.15-12.45

Chair:

Mr John Michell, State Director, South Australia, Department of Foreign Affairs and Trade

**Opening Comments:** 

The Hon Alexander Downer, former Minister for Foreign Affairs

Moderator:

Mr Richard Leaver, Reader in Politics, School of Political and International Studies, Flinders University

Lunch 12.45-1.30

Session 3: The Obama Administration in the Asia-Pacific Region 1.30-3.00

Chair:

The Hon Duncan Kerr SC MP, Parliamentary Secretary for Pacific Island Affairs

Opening Comments:

Professor William Tow, Department of International Relations, ANU

Moderator:

Associate Professor Lyn Carson, Academic Program Director, United States Studies Centre at the University of Sydney

Afternoon Tea 3.00-3.30

Session 4: Australia and the Obama Administration 3.30-4.45

Chair:

Mr Geoff Gray, Executive Director, American Australia Association

**Opening Comments:** 

Dr Rod Lyon, Program Director, Strategy and International, Australian Strategic Policy Institute

Moderator:

Professor Peter Edwards, Flinders University

Closing Remarks 4.45-5.15

Rapporteur's Report:

Professor Robert O'Neill AO, Member of the Board of the Lowy Institute for International Policy and Fellow of the Australian Institute of International Affairs

Closing Remarks:

Ms Melissa Conley Tyler, National Executive Director, Australian Institute of International Affairs

Governor's Reception, Government House, North Terrace 5.30-6.15

His Excellency Rear Admiral Kevin John Scarce, Governor of South Australia

The Australian Institute of International Affairs gratefully acknowledges the support of the Department of Foreign Affairs & Trade

#### **Forum Participants**

Mr Jamie Briggs MP, Member for Mayo

Ms Emily Wilson, Chief of Staff, Strategic Coordination and Governance, Department of Defence

Mr Marcel Dimo, Senior Analyst Americas, Americas and Europe Branch, Office of National Assessments

Dr Wayne Hobbs, Head, National Security Program, Defence Science and Technology Organisation

Ms Sarah Bilney, Adviser, Office of the Hon Duncan Kerr SC MP, Parliamentary Secretary for Pacific Island Affairs

Mr Aric Schwan, Director of Culture and Media Affairs, US Consulate Melbourne

Mr David Stoba, President, Federation of Australian American Associations

Mr Alan Ball, Vice President, Finance, Thales Australia

Dr David Mosler, Visiting Research Fellow, University of Adelaide

Ms Vanessa Newby, Vice-President, QLD Branch, Australian Institute of International Affairs

Mr Robin Ashwin, former Ambassador in Moscow, with assistance by Okche Ashwin The Right Rev'd Dr Ian George AO, former Anglican Archbishop of Adelaide Emeritus Professor Anthony Radford, Flinders University

## **AIIA Representatives**

Mr Geoff Miller AO, National Vice-President, Australian Institute of International Affairs Mr Dayle Redden, National Treasurer, Australian Institute of International Affairs Mr John Robbins, National Deputy Director, Australian Institute of International Affairs Mr Ian Dudgeon RFD, President, ACT Branch, Australian Institute of International Affairs Mr Colin Chapman, Treasurer, NSW Branch, Australian Institute of International Affairs Mr Geoffrey Ewing, President, QLD Branch, Australian Institute of International Affairs Associate Professor Felix Patrikeeff, President, SA Branch, Australian Institute of International Affairs

Dr Matthew Sussex, President, TAS Branch, Australian Institute of International Affairs Dr Sue Boyd, President, WA Branch, Australian Institute of International Affairs

#### **Organising Team**

Ms Julia Jansson, Intern, Australian Institute of International Affairs Ms Julia-Nadine Wirsbinna, Intern, Australian Institute of International Affairs Mr Masaki Kataoka, Intern, Australian Institute of International Affairs