



Korea Foundation Australian Institute of International Affairs Policy Dialogue

Monday 29 December 2014 Department of Foreign Affairs and Trade Queensland State Office 150 Charlotte Street, Brisbane, Australia

Schedule

10:00-10:30 Opening Ceremony

- · Welcoming Remarks
 - Mr. Geoffrey Ewing, President, Australian Institute of International Affairs (Queensland)
- · Opening Remarks
 - Dr. Hyun-seok Yu, President, Korea Foundation
- · Congratulatory Remarks
 - H.E. Mr. Bong-hyun Kim, Ambassador of the Republic of Korea
- 10:30-10:45 Photo Session/Break

10:45-12:15 Session 1 Strategic Environment in Asia Pacific

- · Moderator
 - Dr. Kang Choi, Vice President, Asan Institute for Policy Studies
- · Presenters
 - Dr. Malcolm Davis, Postdoctoral Research Fellow, Bond University
 - Dr. Jae Jeok Park, Assistant Professor, Hankuk University of Foreign Studies
- · Discussants
 - Professor James Cotton FAIIA, Emeritus Professor, UNSW Canberra, Australian Defence Force Academy
 - Dr. Yun Young Cho, Professor, Chung-Ang University
 - Dr. Jason Young, Lecturer, Victoria University of Wellington
- 12:15-13:15 Lunch
- 13:15-15:00 Session 2 Korea's Foreign Policy Initiatives
 - Trust Building Process in Korean Peninsula: Version 2.0
 - Northeast Asia Peace and Cooperation Initiative

· Moderator

Associate Professor Rosita Dellios, Associate Professor, Bond University

· Presenters

Dr. Kang Choi, Vice President, Asan Institute for Policy Studies

Dr. Sang Hyun Lee, Director of Security Studies Program, Sejong Institute

Dr. Leonid Petrov, Visiting Fellow, College of Asia and the Pacific, Australian National University

· Discussants

Professor Roland Bleiker, Professor, University of Queensland

Dr. Danielle Chubb, Lecturer, Deakin University

Dr. Jason Young, Lecturer, Victoria University of Wellington

15:00-15:30 Break

15:30-17:00 Session 3 Middle Power Cooperation: Korea's Perspective

· Moderator

Professor Michael Manton FTSE, Acting Chair, Australia-Korea Foundation

· Presenters

Dr. Caitlin Byrne, Vice President, Australian Institute of International Affairs (Queensland)

Dr. Jaehyon Lee, Research Fellow, Asan Institute for Policy Studies

· Discussants

Ms. Melissa Conley Tyler, National Executive Director, Australian Institute of International Affairs

Dr. Sang-Yoon Ma, Associate Professor, Catholic University of Korea

17:00-17:30 Closing Ceremony

· Closing Remarks

Mr. Matthew Harrison, Department of Foreign Affairs and Trade, Queensland State Office

· Thanks and Gifts

18:00-20:00 Dinner

Il Centro, Eagle Street Pier, 1 Eagle Street, Brisbane

Participants

Australia and New Zealand

Mr. Geoffrey Ewing, President, Australian Institute of International Affairs (Queensland)

Dr. Caitlin Byrne, Vice President, Australian Institute of International Affairs (Queensland)

Ms. Melissa Conley Tyler, National Executive Director, Australian Institute of International Affairs

Mr. Matthew Harrison, Department of Foreign Affairs and Trade, Queensland State Office Professor Michael Manton FTSE, Acting Chair, Australia-Korea Foundation

Professor James Cotton FAIIA, Emeritus Professor, UNSW Canberra, Australian Defence Force Academy

Professor Roland Bleiker, Professor, University of Queensland

Associate Professor Rosita Dellios, Associate Professor, Bond University

Dr. Leonid Petrov, Visiting Fellow, College of Asia and the Pacific, Australian National University

Dr. Malcolm Davis, Postdoctoral Research Fellow, Bond University

Dr. Danielle Chubb, Lecturer, Deakin University

Dr. Jason Young, Lecturer, Victoria University of Wellington

Dr. James Ferguson, Assistant Professor, Bond University

Korea

H.E. Mr. Bong-hyun Kim, Ambassador of the Republic of Korea

Dr. Hyun-seok Yu, President, Korea Foundation

Dr. Yun Young Cho, Professor, Chung-Ang University

Dr. Kang Choi, Vice President, Asan Institute for Policy Studies

Dr. Jaehyon Lee, Research Fellow, Asan Institute for Policy Studies

Dr. Sang Hyun Lee, Director of Security Studies Program, Sejong Institute

Dr. Sang-Yoon Ma, Associate Professor, Catholic University of Korea

Dr. Jae Jeok Park, Assistant Professor, Hankuk University of Foreign Studies

Observers

Mr. Jae-seung Moon, Chief Assistant to the President, Korea Foundation

Mr. Chung Min Lee, Senior Program Officer, Korea Foundation

Mr. Sebastian McLellan, Australian Institute of International Affairs National Office

Ms. Caitlin Clifford, Australian Institute of International Affairs National Office