

Australian Institute of International Affairs National Conference

Foreign Policy for a Top 20 Nation

The Hyatt Hotel Canberra, Commonwealth Avenue, Yarralumla Monday 27 October 2014

Program

Arrival 8.45-9.00

Australian Foreign Policy

9.00-11.00

Senator the Hon Brett Mason delivering a speech on behalf of the Hon Julie Bishop MP, Minister for Foreign Affairs, also officially representing the Hon Tony Abbott MP, Prime Minister of Australia

John McCarthy FAIIA, National President, Australian Institute of International Affairs Professor Hugh White AO FAIIA, Professor of Strategic Studies, School of International, Political & Strategic Studies, ANU College of Asia and the Pacific

The Hon Richard Marles MP, Shadow Minister for Immigration and Border Protection

<u>Chair</u>: Zara Kimpton OAM, National Vice-President, Australian Institute of International Affairs

Acknowledgement of Fellows of the AIIA for 2014 by Geoffrey Ewing, President, Queensland Branch, Australian Institute of International Affairs

Morning Tea 11.00-11.30

Enhancing Australia's Prosperity

11.30-1.00

Michael Stutchbury, Editor in Chief, The Australian Financial Review

Robert Milliner, B20 Sherpa and Senior Advisor, UBS

Mike Callaghan AM, Director, G20 Studies Centre, Lowy Institute for International Policy

<u>Chair</u>: Kate Carnell AO, Chief Executive Officer, Australian Chamber of Commerce and Industry

Lunch 1.00-1.45

Strengthening Australia's Security

1.45-3.15

Rory Medcalf, Director, International Security Program, Lowy Institute

Peter Jennings PSM, Executive Director, Australian Strategic Policy Institute

Dr Tanya Ogilvie-White, Research Director, Centre for Nuclear Non-proliferation and Disarmament, Australian National University

Professor Alan Dupont, School of Social Sciences, UNSW

Chair: Professor Peter Edwards AM FAIIA

Afternoon Tea 3.15-3.45

Contributing to Global Issues

3.45-5.00

Paul Wilson, Acting Assistant Secretary, Parliamentary and Media Branch, Department of Foreign Affairs and Trade and former Deputy Permanent Representative to the United Nations and to the Conference on Disarmament, Geneva

Emeritus Professor Gillian Triggs FAIIA, President, Australian Human Rights Commission

Professor Megan Davis, Director, Indigenous Law Centre, UNSW and Member of the United Nations Permanent Forum on Indigenous Issues

<u>Chair</u>: Professor Samina Yasmeen AM FAIIA, Director, Centre for Muslim States and Societies, University of Western Australia

Concluding Remarks and Presentations

5.00-5.15

Melissa Conley Tyler, National Executive Director, Australian Institute of International Affairs

Announcement of the recipients of the Euan Crone Asian Awareness Scholarships for 2014 by Euan Crone

Publication launch by Associate Professor Shirley Scott, Research Chair, Australian Institute of International Affairs

The Australian Institute of International Affairs gratefully acknowledges the support of the Department of Foreign Affairs and Trade for this event:





Australian Institute of International Affairs

Masterclass Program

Sunday 26 October 2014, 3.15 for 3.30-5.30 pm Stephen House, 32 Thesiger Court, Deakin

Defence and Security

Ric Smith AO PSM FAIIA, former Secretary, Department of Defence

Moderator: Cameron Hawker, ACT Branch President

International Law and Human Rights

Emeritus Professor Gillian Triggs FAIIA, President, Australian Human Rights Commission

Moderator: Associate Professor Shirley Scott, Research Chair

Diplomacy

Geoff Miller AO FAIIA, former Ambassador to Indonesia and former Director-General, Office of National Assessments

Moderator: John Goodlad, WA Branch President

Media

Graeme Dobell FAIIA, former ABC and Radio Australia correspondent

Moderator: Colin Chapman, AIIA NSW President

Academia

Professor Samina Yasmeen AM FAIIA, University of Western Australia

Moderator: Associate Professor Felix Patrikeeff, SA Branch President

Aid

Dr Janet Hunt FAIIA, former Executive Director of the Australian Council for Overseas Aid

Moderator: Alison Broinowski, Alison Broinowski, Research Affiliate, College of Asia and the Pacific, Australian National University

Followed by a reception at Government House from 6.00-7.00 pm hosted by Their Excellencies The Governor-General of the Commonwealth of Australia General the Honourable Sir Peter Cosgrove AK MC (Retd) and Lady Cosgrove.